[Solved] How do I activate aria2?

[Solved] How do I activate aria2?

Postby d3Xt3r » 13.10.2019, 22:52

Hi all,

Are there any instructions on how to use aria2 instead of wget? I'm getting extremely slow download speeds with wget (5KB/s).

I can see this bit of code in DownloadUpdates.cmd:

Code: Select all
if exist custom\SetAria2EnvVars.cmd (
  call ActivateAria2Downloads.cmd /reload
  call custom\SetAria2EnvVars.cmd
)


So it looks like I need that file to activate ariea2. However, I do not have the "SetAria2EnvVars.cmd" file in my custom folder. Any ideas where can I get this?

Thanks!
Last edited by d3Xt3r on 14.10.2019, 03:03, edited 1 time in total.
d3Xt3r
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 13.10.2019, 22:46

Re: How do I activate aria2?

Postby Dalai » 13.10.2019, 23:59

Run wsusoffline\cmd\ActivateAria2Downloads.cmd

Regards
Dalai
Dalai
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: 12.07.2016, 21:00

Re: How do I activate aria2?

Postby d3Xt3r » 14.10.2019, 00:17

Thanks, but it's still very slow downloading the initial support files. Looks like aria2 doesn't do segmented downloading for files < 1MB. :(

Image
d3Xt3r
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 13.10.2019, 22:46

Re: How do I activate aria2?

Postby Dalai » 14.10.2019, 02:38

Well, it's obvious that you have some kind of issue with your internet and/or internal network connection (e.g. lost packets, connection drops, blocking/filtering firewall). If you solve that, it doesn't matter which download manager is used, and whether or not it supports segmented downloads.

Regards
Dalai
Dalai
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: 12.07.2016, 21:00

Re: How do I activate aria2?

Postby d3Xt3r » 14.10.2019, 02:48

It seems like an issue with console-based downloads, both wget and aria2 are slow. I've been able to download the support files from Firefox without any issues however. Both the console and Firefox are pointing to the same proxy server, so not sure why there's a difference in speeds.

Anyway I've managed to manually download the support files and now the script is progressing and now downloading the actual updates, unfortunately even with 10 segments it's still very very slow and keeps timing out.

Is there a way for WSUSOffline to simply generate a list of URLs? I can download these thru a separate download manager and copy them to the wsusoffline folder. At the moment I'm manually copy-pasting each URL from the console, downloading it via my browser and restarting WSUSOffline, which is a very time consuming process. :(

Image
d3Xt3r
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 13.10.2019, 22:46

Re: How do I activate aria2?

Postby d3Xt3r » 14.10.2019, 03:02

SOLVED!

I managed to solve it by manually setting the proxy server in the GUI - downloads are now going at full speed!

Thanks for your assistance. :)
d3Xt3r
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 13.10.2019, 22:46


Return to Installation / Updating

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests