How to install manually downloaded patches using wsusoffline

How to install manually downloaded patches using wsusoffline

Postby privateren » 08.12.2017, 11:31

Hi,

I am a newbie. I already have 2 Gb of downloaded patches from March 2012 onwards for my Windows 2008 server. Can I install the same patches using wsusoffline without running UpdateGenerator.exe?.

Installing the whole set of 2 GB patches is taking a lot of time through normal process. Can anyone please help me by elaborating on how to install the same set of already downloaded patches using wsusoffline without again downloading the patches.

How can I achieve this. some one please help me?

Abraham
privateren

Re: How to install manually downloaded patches using wsusoff

Postby aker » 08.12.2017, 12:00

Just keep your copy of wsusou and run .\client\UpdateInstaller.exe later again.
Wer Rechtschreibfehler findet, darf sie behalten oder an den Meistbietenden versteigern. / Everybody finding a misspelling is allowed to keep or sell it.
aker

WSUS Offline Update „Community Edition“
https://gitlab.com/wsusoffline/wsusoffline/-/releases
aker

Postby rfphee » 10.12.2017, 10:28

Dear Aker,

I am planning to upgrade wsusoffline 10.92 to 11.0.3. The downloaded patches is already 16 GB. Can I just copy WSUS 11.0.3 Update generator.exe? so that i dont have to download the downloaded patches again?

Thanks,
Ros
rfphee

Postby boco » 10.12.2017, 20:45

You can just let WOU update itself. For a manual update, all files from the archive must be extracted to overwrite the old ones (not just the executables).

Downloaded patches will be kept, except when the new WOU version doesn't support an OS/Office version anymore (example: XP, Vista).
Microsoft update catalog: http://catalog.update.microsoft.com/v7/site/
Windows Install media download: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/15088/windows-create-installation-media
boco

Postby privateren » 11.12.2017, 10:43