Installed updates not showed in "View installed updates"

Installed updates not showed in "View installed updates"

Postby quebecman » 15.05.2017, 15:45

Hello,

This is my first post on this forum but I have been using WSUS Offline since many years. Thanx to everyone making this freeware an excellent alternative. I have done research on this forum but couldn't really find any explanation.

My boss came in this morning and I was asked if we where protected against the latest cryptowall "Wannacry". I then whent to "VIEW INSTALLED UPDATES" and unfortunately was unable to see any updates.

My question is the following:

Is there any kind of LOG files (ex: *.txt) that I can take a look if the patch is installed? Is there any workaround to know if the patch is installed from Windows Installer?

Thanx. Regards.
Long live.
Last edited by quebecman on 15.05.2017, 21:11, edited 1 time in total.
quebecman

Re: Installed updates not showed in "View installed updates"

Postby Dalai » 15.05.2017, 16:35

quebecman wrote:I then whent to "VIEW INSTALLED UPDATES" and unfortunately was unable to see any updates.

Are you sure you looked at Installed Updates as opposed to Update History? Just today I explained the difference (again) :arrow: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6612.

Is there any kind of LOG files (ex: *.txt) that I can take a look if the patch is installed?

Yup. Take a look at C:\Windows\wsusofflineupdate.log.

Is there any workaround to know if the patch is installed from Windows Installer?

Probably yes (although Windows Installer has nothing to do with Windows Update). Let Windows search for updates, and if it doesn't find anyting that can be installed, the available updates have most likely been installed.

Regards
Dalai
Dalai

Postby quebecman » 15.05.2017, 16:51

Hello,

Thanx for the quick reply. I have read your post. As my understanding:

"CABs ONLY show up in Installed Updates " --\

Questions: