Is the update process incomplete here?

Is the update process incomplete here?

Postby whambo » 25.01.2017, 19:23

Hello,

I'm new to this so please bear with me. I probably did something wrong, so...

I picked the "Security Only" updates for 8.1 x64 Global for the OS. I then picked the English selection for Office 2013 under the Office tab.

I left the USB medium box unchecked.

I have the normal Windows Update Control Panel on the OS set to "Never Check for updates (not recommended)" which mean it's turned off.

It looks like it installed the repository locally on my USB flash drive and that's where I had originally extracted the program's zip file to. After a few hours, it's now occupying 8.5GB on the D:\ flash drive. Ok.

I ran Updateinstaller.exe located in the USB's Client directory and the cmd window tells me it's found only 4 updates to install. I thought there would be more. No?

It then seemed to install those missing updates from the repository like it should.

Then it asks me to reboot, which I do. I can see the % percentages as it's installing like it should.

Once the machine reboots, I then go to see the Viewed Update History in Control Panel and there not there? For example, KB3203884 which was shown as one of the ones installed is not there.

The last updates shown in there were security updates from December. That part is understandable since the machine has been in storage for the last couple of months

Why did they not show up there in update history? Did I do something wrong?

Any help would be most appreciated, thanks
whambo

Re: Is the update process incomplete here?

Postby Dalai » 25.01.2017, 19:50

whambo wrote:Why did they not show up there in update history?

Most of the updates in the WSUS Offline repository are CABs, only a few of them are MSUs. Updates installed by CABs do not show up in Update History, only updates installed by MSUs do. Both of them show up in Installed Updates list (Windows Update > View Installed Updates).